Skip to content

OXO Good Grips Large Adjustable review

Three thicknesses with a food holder included, and a window showing the slices below.

What we would actually buy The same three thicknesses as OXO’s cheapest handheld, plus the food holder that one does not mention. It is also published at seventy grams — less than half the weight of the standard model it is bigger than.

What the maker puts in writing

  • “Adjustable for slices in 3 thicknesses: 1mm (0.04 in), 2.5mm (0.10 in) and 4mm (0.16 in)”
  • “Included food holder keeps fingers safe”
  • “Comfortable non-slip handle, knob and foot”
  • “Window shows slices below”
  • “Slice directly onto a plate, cutting board or hook over a bowl”

Sixteen dollars for a food holder

OXO sells three mandolines on this shelf, and this one is hard to place.

Good Grips Handheld — $18.85 — 160 g — 1, 2.5, 4 mm · window · plate, board or bowl · no holder mentioned This, Large Adjustable — $34.92 — 70 g — the same 1, 2.5, 4 mm · window · plate, board or bowl · holder stated Precision — $34.94 — 230 g — five options including julienne · automatic height-adjustable holder that stores underneath · transparent runway · dishwasher safe

So against the cheap one this adds, in writing, a food holder and non-slip on the knob as well as the handle and foot.

The holder is not a trivial extra. On a mandoline it is the thing between your fingertips and a fixed razor edge at the last slice, which is where the injury happens. Paying for one that is actually stated is defensible.

But the Precision costs two cents more than this and publishes five cutting options, julienne, and an automatic holder.

And the non-slip knob is a real detail

The knob is the thickness adjuster, and you turn it mid-job with hands that are wet from the vegetable. A knob that slips is a knob you cannot set accurately, and an unexpected change of setting on a mandoline is a surprise you do not want.

Of the thirteen listings here, this is the only one that mentions non-slip on the adjuster rather than only the handle.

The window, which is OXO’s idea

Window shows slices below.

Nobody else on this shelf has it, and OXO’s cheapest listing explains it best: it means you will not “end up with too many sliced cucumbers or more potatoes than your gratin called for”.

Slicing is fast and rhythmic — you watch the blade, not the pile — and it is easy to go through a whole cucumber for a salad that needed half.

OXO’s Precision calls its version a “transparent runway”.

Seventy grams, which cannot be right

The catalog gives 70 g (2.5 oz) for this, against 160 g (5.6 oz) for OXO’s standard handheld and 230 g (8.1 oz) for the Precision.

So the model called Large is published at less than half the weight of the standard one. Seventy grams is roughly what a plastic food holder weighs on its own.

It matters because weight on a handheld is frame stiffness: you press down through the tool, and a light frame flexes at the blade mount — which changes the thickness partway through the stroke.

For scale, the handhelds here run to 350 g (12.3 oz) (Fullstar) and the bench units to 1,324 g (46.7 oz).

And “large” is never measured

No dimensions. No slicing surface width — the figure that decides what fits across the blade.

Benriner is the only listing on this shelf to publish one: a 2.5-inch surface on a 12.75 × 3.625 in body, described as narrow by design.

Since the thickness settings here are identical to the $18.85 model, size is the only thing that could justify the price — and it is the one thing the page does not measure.

What is not published

No blade steel, where Gramercy publishes 4CR15 and Fullstar 420. No julienne, which OXO’s own Precision has as one of five settings. No dishwasher statement, which the Precision gives. No warranty.

Availability

On sale at around $35 on the American Amazon store at the time of checking.

Prices and availability are what Keepa reported on the date this page was updated; both move.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 4 October 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

What we rate, and what we do not

Strengths

  • States a food holder, which OXO’s cheapest handheld does not mention at all
  • Non-slip on the handle, the knob AND the foot — the knob matters when you change thickness mid-job
  • The window that shows the slices below, which no other maker on this shelf offers

Compromises

  • The same three thicknesses as the $18.85 OXO, for $16.07 more
  • Its published weight of 70 g (2.5 oz) cannot be right for a model called large
  • No dimensions, no surface width, no julienne and no dishwasher statement

Specifications

Thickness settingsThree — 1 mm (0.04 in), 2.5 mm (0.10 in) and 4 mm (0.16 in)
Food holderIncluded, to keep fingers safe
WindowShows slices below
Non-slipHandle, knob and foot
Where to sliceDirectly onto a plate, a cutting board, or hooked over a bowl
Published weight70 g (2.5 oz) — less than half the standard OXO handheld, see the FAQ
Published bulletsFive, each one line
Against the standard OXOThe same three thicknesses, $16.07 more, plus a stated food holder
Blade steelNot published
JulienneNot stated — OXO’s Precision model has it
How largeNot published — no dimensions or surface width given
DishwasherNot stated
WarrantyNot published by the maker
Amazon referenceB015HONRP8
EAN0719812043609

The questions that come in

What does it add over OXO’s $18.85 handheld?

A stated food holder and a non-slip knob, for sixteen dollars — and nothing else that the page reveals. The two listings publish the same three thicknesses: 1 mm (0.04 in), 2.5 mm (0.10 in) and 4 mm (0.16 in). Both have the window. Both slice onto a plate, a board, or hooked over a bowl. What this one adds in writing is "Included food holder keeps fingers safe", which the cheaper listing never mentions, and non-slip on the knob as well as the handle and foot. On a mandoline a food holder is not a trivial extra — it is the thing between your fingertips and a fixed razor edge at the last slice — so paying for one stated is defensible. But OXO’s Precision model, at two cents more than this, publishes five cutting options including julienne and an automatic height-adjustable holder.

Can it weigh 70 grams?

Not for a model called large. The catalog lists 70 g (2.5 oz) here against 160 g (5.6 oz) for OXO’s standard Good Grips Handheld and 230 g (8.1 oz) for its Precision — so the "Large Adjustable" is published at less than half the weight of the standard one. For scale, the handhelds on this shelf run from this figure up to 350 g (12.3 oz) (Fullstar), and the bench units from 921 to 1,324 g (32.5 to 46.7 oz). Seventy grams is about what a plastic food holder weighs on its own. Treat it as a catalog error. It matters because weight on a handheld is frame stiffness: you press down through the tool, and a light frame flexes at the blade mount, which changes the thickness partway through the stroke.

How large is "large"?

The listing does not say, and it is the one thing the name promises. There are no dimensions and no slicing surface width anywhere on the page — and surface width is the figure that decides what actually fits across the blade. Benriner is the only listing on this shelf to publish one: a 2.5-inch slicing surface on a 12.75 × 3.625 inch body, which it describes as narrow by design. Without a number here you cannot tell whether "large" means it takes a whole baking potato broadside or simply that it is larger than another OXO. Given that the thickness settings are identical to the cheaper model, the size is the only thing that could justify the price — and it is unmeasured.

What use this one answers, among cookware and knives

Someone who wants the OXO window and a stated food holder — otherwise read the Precision page

Add-ons stated to fit

Listed because the add-on names this pan as a fit.

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 1,000.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for cookware and kitchen knives and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we judge these cookware and knives on

Prices quoted in these summaries are dated readings. The live price is shown next to each product.