Skip to content

OXO Good Grips Handheld review

A three-setting handheld with a window that shows how much you have sliced, for nineteen dollars.

What we would actually buy A window in the body so you can see how much you have sliced — which no other maker here has thought of, and which OXO explains better than its own dearer models. It mentions no hand guard at all.

What the maker puts in writing

  • “The handheld mandoline slicer for kitchen easily adjusts to 1 mm (0.04 in), 2.5 mm (0.10 in), or 4 mm (0.16 in)”
  • “The large non-slip handle and stable foot are designed for comfort and security while slicing potatoes, cabbage, onions, cheese or fruit”
  • “Slice directly onto a plate, on a cutting board or hook over a bowl so never have to make awkward movements or interrupt the flow of your food preparation”
  • “The mandoline food slicer features a clever window so you can assess volume while slicing. This veggie slicer won’t let you end up with too many sliced cucumbers or more potatoes than your gratin called for”
  • “engineered to streamline and simplify the task at hand, whether you use it as a general vegetable slicer, meat slicer, cheese slicer or even a fruit slicer”

The window, and the best explanation of it on this shelf

What you lose track of on a mandoline is quantity.

Slicing is fast and rhythmic: you watch the vegetable and the blade, not the pile. And so you go through the whole cucumber for a salad that needed half.

OXO’s sentence is the clearest on this shelf: the window means it won’t let you end up with too many sliced cucumbers or more potatoes than your gratin called for.

No other maker here has thought of it. OXO fits one on all three of its models — this, the Large Adjustable (“window shows slices below”) and the Precision (“transparent runway shows ingredients as they pass over the blade”) — and this is the listing that says why.

And where the slices go

Slice directly onto a plate, on a cutting board or hook over a bowl.

Which is the other practical problem: a handheld mandoline has to be held over something, and holding it over a board means the slices spread and fall off the edge. Hooking the foot on the rim of a bowl frees both hands for the pushing.

Benriner does the same (“hooks onto bowls to collect slices”), and Mueller Austria solves it differently with folding legs — unfold to slice onto a board, fold to slice into a bowl.

The gap: no guard is mentioned

All five bullets describe the handle, the foot, the window and where to slice. None describes a food holder or guard.

On a mandoline that matters more than on any other kitchen tool. The blade is fixed and razor sharp, and the injury comes at the last slice — when what is left is too small to hold and your fingertips pass over the edge.

At least eleven of the eighteen listings here describe a holder. The serious ones:

  • Fullstar — a steel-tipped guard, contrasted with plastic ones
  • Joseph Joseph — three grips: pinch, center, flat
  • Gramercy — cut-resistant gloves in the box
  • Ibergrif — a blade lock for storage and cleaning
  • OXO Precision — automatic, height-adjustable, stores underneath

OXO’s own two dearer models both state a holder. Assume this ships with something basic, and buy a cut-resistant glove whatever you choose.

Which OXO

This — $18.85 — 160 g — three settings, the window, hooks over a bowl, no holder stated. Large Adjustable — $34.92 — 70 g — the same three settings, plus a stated food holder. And published at less than half the weight of this one, which for a model called “large” cannot be right. Precision — $34.94 — 230 g — five options including julienne, an automatic height-adjustable holder that stores underneath, and the only dishwasher statement of the three.

On capability, the Precision. On value, this — if you already own a glove.

What is not published

No blade steel, where Gramercy publishes 4CR15 and Fullstar 420. No julienne. No dishwasher statement, though OXO’s Precision states one. No slicing surface width — only Benriner gives one, at 2.5 inches. No warranty.

Availability

On sale at around $19 on the American Amazon store at the time of checking.

Prices and availability are what Keepa reported on the date this page was updated; both move.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 4 October 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

What we rate, and what we do not

Strengths

  • A window showing what you have sliced, which no other maker on this shelf offers
  • Explains the point of that window better than either of OXO’s dearer models
  • Hooks over a bowl, so the slices go where you want them and the counter stays clean

Compromises

  • Mentions no hand guard or food holder, on the tool that causes most kitchen cuts
  • Three settings, where Fullstar at four dollars less gives four
  • No blade steel, no dishwasher statement and no warranty

Specifications

Thickness settingsThree — 1 mm (0.04 in), 2.5 mm (0.10 in) or 4 mm (0.16 in)
WindowShows the volume sliced as you work — OXO’s feature, on all three of its models
Why that mattersSo you stop at the right quantity rather than slicing the whole cucumber
HandleLarge and non-slip
FootStable
Where to sliceDirectly onto a plate, on a board, or hooked over a bowl
Stated forPotatoes, cabbage, onions, cheese and fruit
Weight160 g (5.6 oz)
Hand guardNot mentioned on this listing — see the FAQ
Blade steelNot published
JulienneNot stated
DishwasherNot stated, where OXO’s Precision model states it
WarrantyNot published by the maker
Amazon referenceB000YDO2LG
EAN0719812021911

The questions that come in

Why is a window useful?

Because the thing you lose track of on a mandoline is quantity, and OXO is the only maker on this shelf to design for it. The listing puts it better than any other page here: the window means "this veggie slicer won’t let you end up with too many sliced cucumbers or more potatoes than your gratin called for". Slicing with a mandoline is fast and rhythmic — you look at the vegetable and the blade, not at the pile — and it is genuinely easy to go through a whole cucumber for a salad that needed half. A window in the body lets you check the growing stack without stopping. OXO fits one on all three of its models here: this, the Large Adjustable ("window shows slices below") and the Precision ("transparent runway").

Is there a food holder?

The listing does not mention one, and that is the gap to weigh. All five bullets describe the handle, the foot, the window and where to slice — none describes a guard or holder. On a mandoline that matters more than on any other kitchen tool: the blade is fixed and razor sharp, and the injury comes at the last slice, when what is left is too small to hold. At least eleven of the eighteen listings here describe some holder, and the serious ones go further — Fullstar fits steel tips instead of plastic, Joseph Joseph gives three grips for three shapes, Gramercy includes cut-resistant gloves, Ibergrif adds a storage blade lock. OXO’s own two dearer models both state a food holder. Assume this one ships with something basic, and buy a glove.

Which of OXO’s three should I buy?

They are genuinely different tools, and the prices are not in the order you would guess. This, $18.85, 160 g (5.6 oz) — three settings (1, 2.5, 4 mm (0.16 in)), the window, hooks over a bowl, no holder stated. Large Adjustable, $34.92, 70 g (2.5 oz) — the same three settings, plus a stated food holder; and note that the "large" model is published at less than half the weight of this one, which cannot be right. Precision, $34.94, 230 g (8.1 oz) — five cutting options including julienne, an automatic height-adjustable holder that stores underneath, a transparent runway, and the only dishwasher statement of the three. On capability the Precision is the one; on value this is, if you already own a glove.

What use this one answers, among cookware and knives

Slicing a measured amount — half a cucumber for a salad, not the whole one

Add-ons stated to fit

Listed because the add-on names this pan as a fit.

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 5,000.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for cookware and kitchen knives and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we judge these cookware and knives on

Prices quoted in these summaries are dated readings. The live price is shown next to each product.