Skip to content

Priority Chef Heavy Duty Large 5.5-Inch review

A 5.5 in black granite mortar with a 6.2 in pestle and two countertop protectors in the box.

What we would actually buy Five and a half inches of black granite with two countertop protectors in the box — four dollars and four hundred microns more bowl than its stablemate. It claims seven pounds and the catalog says five and a half.

What the maker puts in writing

  • “This large mortar measures 5.5 inches across and 2.2 inches deep, paired with a sturdy 6.2 inch pestle. Total set weight is approximately 7 lbs — heavy, solid granite designed for serious grinding. Ideal for making 1-2 servings”
  • “Home made, fresh delicious guacamole, pesto and more can be made on demand with this granite mortar and pestle set”
  • “This mortar and pestle set with a generous 1.5 cup capacity and sturdy 6.2inch pestle gets the job done quickly. Crush, grind and pound herbs, nuts, spices and more to release natural flavors and aromas”
  • “This black granite stone mortar and pestle is a beast! Super sturdy and heavy enough to leave out on display, but that could cause scratches to your countertop. That’s why we have included 2 non slip countertop protectors”
  • “Elegant black granite molcajete bowl adds style to any kitchen”

Five and a half inches, which is the reason to pay the four dollars

Priority Chef sells two mortars on this shelf:

5.1 in across, 2.2 in deep — $21.99 — 2,420 g 5.5 in across, 2.2 in deep — $25.99 — 2,490 g — this

On a mortar, width is working room. A wider bowl lets the pestle travel further before it meets the wall, and that travel is what brings a paste together rather than just bruising it. Half an inch of extra diameter on a five-inch bowl is noticeable in the hand.

It is also the widest bowl on this shelf short of the 8-inch UMIEN.

And the thing both listings get right

“that could cause scratches to your countertop. That’s why we have included 2 non slip countertop protectors”

Granite with a rough base, two and a half kilograms of it, dragged half an inch across quartz or laminate, leaves a mark. Priority Chef says so and puts two protectors in the box.

This model adds a non-slip base as well, making it the fullest answer to the worktop question anywhere here.

Nine of the fourteen mortars on this shelf publish nothing about it. The others that do: both WALDWERK mortars (an anti-scratch wood base), HPYNPES (anti-slip base), Tera (padding).

Two figures that do not hold up

Seven pounds. The listing says “approximately 7 lbs”, which is about 3,175 g. The catalog figure is 2,490 g — about 5.49 lb. A gap of nearly 700 g.

The comparison that settles it sits on the same shelf: the maker’s 5.1 inch model states “approximately 5 lbs” and carries a catalog weight of 2,420 g (85.4 oz), or 5.34 lb. That matches well.

So the smaller mortar is weighed accurately, and this one claims a pound and a half more than its data supports — for a bowl half an inch wider. Expect about 2.5 kg (5.5 lb), which is still heavy enough that both hands can go to the pestle. ChefSofi is 3,200 g (112.9 oz) and UMIEN 4,569.

One point five cups. Published on both Priority Chef mortars, at 5.1 and 5.5 inches, both 2.2 inches deep. A 5.5-inch circle has about 16 per cent more area, so at equal depth it holds more. One of the two is wrong, and the smaller model is the one whose weights agree.

The three granite bowls on this shelf

  • This — 5.5 in, stated 1.5 cups, 2,490 g (87.8 oz), $25.99 — $17.33 a cup
  • ChefSofi — stated 2 cups, 3,200 g (112.9 oz), $32.99 — $16.50 a cup — and the only one to describe its interior as unpolished and “metate-like”
  • UMIEN — 8 in, 3.5 cups, 4,569 g (161.2 oz), $29.99 — $8.57 a cup — with a bonus avocado tool and a claim to double as a serving bowl

So UMIEN is far and away the most bowl for the money, ChefSofi the best-described grinding surface, and this the most manageable size with the most worktop protection.

And one thing this page drops

It does not say the interior is unpolished. The maker’s own 5.1 inch listing does — “this unpolished grey granite stone mortar” — and that is the specification that decides whether a mortar grinds at all: you cannot grind on a smooth surface, because a polished bowl lets food slide round the wall.

Six of fourteen listings here state an interior finish. IMUSA publishes both halves — polished exterior, rough textured interior. ChefSofi says unpolished. This one says only “black granite”.

It is very likely the same stone and the same finish as its stablemate. The page does not say.

Granite, on the merits

WALDWERK is the only listing here that explains the material: one of the oldest and hardest rocks in the world. It hardly absorbs any water.

Granite is 6 to 7 on the Mohs scale. The two marble mortars on this shelf are calcium carbonate at about 3 — softer under the pestle, absorbent, and etched by acid, which is awkward for a bowl sold for salsa and guacamole.

No washing instruction here, though granite needs little. No warranty, like twelve of the fourteen.

Availability

On sale at around $26 on the American Amazon store at the time of checking.

Prices and availability are what Keepa reported on the date this page was updated; both move.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 4 October 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

What we rate, and what we do not

Strengths

  • Five and a half inches, the widest bowl on this shelf short of the eight-inch UMIEN
  • A non-slip base AND two countertop protectors, which is the fullest answer to the worktop problem here
  • Publishes one pestle length consistently — 6.2 inches — where the maker’s other model gives two

Compromises

  • Claims about seven pounds where the catalog says 2490 g (87.8 oz), which is five and a half
  • Claims the same 1.5 cup capacity as the maker’s narrower 5.1 inch bowl, which cannot be right
  • Does not state an unpolished interior, where the maker’s 5.1 inch listing does

Specifications

Bowl5.5 in across and 2.2 in deep — the widest Priority Chef here
Pestle6.2 in, stated consistently in both bullets
Stated capacity1.5 cups — the same as the maker’s smaller 5.1 in bowl, see the FAQ
Material100 per cent natural black granite
BaseNon-slip
Included2 non-slip countertop protectors
Why they are includedThe maker states the mortar could otherwise scratch your countertop
Stated total weightApproximately 7 lb, about 3175 g (112 oz)
Catalog weight2490 g (87.8 oz) — about 5.49 lb, which does not match the stated figure
Stated servingsIdeal for making 1 to 2 servings
Cost per cup$17.33 on the stated capacity — the highest on this shelf
Dimensions140 × 140 × 76 mm (5.51 × 5.51 × 2.99 in)
Interior finishNot stated as unpolished, unlike the maker’s 5.1 in model
WashingNot stated
WarrantyNot published by the maker
Amazon referenceB09RQQSYW2
EAN5060744730569

The questions that come in

Does it weigh seven pounds?

Probably not. The listing states "total set weight is approximately 7 lbs", which is about 3,175 g (112 oz). The catalog figure for the same product is 2,490 g (87.8 oz) — about 5.49 lb. The gap is nearly 700 g (24.7 oz). And the comparison that settles it is on the same shelf: the maker’s own 5.1 inch model states "approximately 5 lbs" and carries a catalog weight of 2,420 g (85.4 oz), which is 5.34 lb — a good match. So Priority Chef’s smaller mortar is weighed accurately and this one claims a pound and a half more than its catalog data supports, for a bowl only half an inch wider. Expect about 2.5 kg (5.5 lb), which is still heavy enough that both hands can go to the pestle. For scale, ChefSofi is 3,200 g (112.9 oz) and UMIEN 4,569.

Is it really the same capacity as the 5.1 inch model?

It cannot be. Priority Chef publishes 1.5 cups on both of its mortars here, and the two bowls are 5.1 inches and 5.5 inches across at the same 2.2 inch depth. A 5.5-inch circle has about 16 per cent more area than a 5.1-inch one, so at equal depth it must hold more. One figure is wrong, and the smaller model is the one whose stated and catalog weights agree. The practical consequence favors this one anyway: on a mortar, width is working room. A wider bowl lets the pestle travel further before it hits the wall, which is what makes a paste come together — and half an inch of extra diameter on a 5-inch bowl is noticeable in the hand.

How does it compare with the ChefSofi and the UMIEN?

It is the middle of the three granite bowls, and the cheapest per inch of them. This: 5.5 in, stated 1.5 cups, 2,490 g (87.8 oz), $25.99. ChefSofi: a stated 2 cups, 3,200 g (112.9 oz), $32.99 — and the only one of the three to say it is unpolished and "metate-like" inside. UMIEN: 8 inches, 3.5 cups, 4,569 g (161.2 oz), $29.99, with a bonus avocado tool and a claim to double as a serving bowl. By cost per cup: UMIEN $8.57, ChefSofi $16.50, this $17.33. So UMIEN is by far the most bowl for the money, ChefSofi the best-described grinding surface, and this the most manageable size of the three with the fullest worktop protection.

This one against the other cookware and knives

Close prices, same category: comparable cookware and knives. We keep only the specifications all of them publish, because a column with gaps compares nothing.

Model Price Material
Priority Chef Heavy Duty Large 5.5-Inch $26 100 per cent natural black granite
PriorityChef 1.5 Cup 5.1-Inch $22 100 per cent natural granite, unpolished
UMIEN 8-Inch Molcajete $30 Handcrafted natural granite, with a stated natural color pattern
WALDWERK Acacia Wood Base 4.7-Inch $30 Solid granite

What sets the models apart, in cookware and knives

  • If price decides: PriorityChef 1.5 Cup 5.1-Inch, at $22.

What use this one answers, among cookware and knives

A wider bowl for the same capacity — four dollars for half an inch more working room

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 500.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for cookware and kitchen knives and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we judge these cookware and knives on

Prices quoted in these summaries are dated readings. The live price is shown next to each product.