Skip to content

KitchenAid Gourmet 4-Sided review

The heaviest all-steel grater here, with a steel top handle and a 3-cup graduated container.

What we would actually buy The heaviest all-steel grater here at 499 grams, the only one that publishes its container volume — three cups — and the only KitchenAid of the three with a warranty. It also has a steel top handle rather than a soft side grip.

What the maker puts in writing

  • “This box grater is constructed from high quality, rust resistant stainless steel… It also features a stainless steel top handle for superior comfort”
  • “The grater features 3 grating surfaces and 1 slicing blade. Fine blade, Medium, Coarse blade, Slicing blade”
  • “a 3-cup container fits inside the box grater to catch the grated or sliced food, allowing for easy storage”
  • “The container has capacity markings of 1/2-cup, 1-cup, 1 1/2-cup, and 2-cup, allowing for precise grating measurements”
  • “Dishwasher safe for fast and easy cleanup; 1-year Hassle-Free replacement and lifetime limited”

Four hundred and ninety-nine grams

The heaviest all-steel grater on this shelf. Only WALDWERK is heavier, at 621 g (21.9 oz), and that figure includes a solid oak base.

Mass on a box grater is panel stiffness — the thing you cannot see and will notice. A thin-gauge face flexes when you press a hard block of cheddar against it, and a flexing face makes the cutting edges skip across the food rather than bite. That is what most people mean when a grater “feels blunt”.

At 20.0 grams per dollar it sits mid-shelf; the $9.98 Urbanstrive gives 33.1.

A steel handle, on the top

Two graters here have a top handle — this and Norpro, which gives the reason: steady leverage during heavy grating.

The other eleven have a side grip, which suits holding the grater up over a plate. A top handle suits the opposite: pressing the grater down onto a board and holding it absolutely still, which is what a parmesan rind or a raw sweet potato demands.

And KitchenAid’s is stainless steel rather than coated plastic — one fewer part to perish, and more comfortable than it sounds on a grip you lean on.

The only container volume published on this shelf

A 3-cup container.

Six graters here have a detachable container — the three KitchenAids, GORILLA GRIP, OXO, Urbanstrive — and this is the only one that says how much it holds. KitchenAid’s other two publish the same cup markings with no capacity; GORILLA GRIP says “includes measurements” without figures; OXO and Urbanstrive publish nothing.

Which makes the oddity worth naming: the markings run to 2 cups on a 3-cup pot. The last third is storage, not measurement.

The only warranty KitchenAid publishes here

“1-year Hassle-Free replacement and lifetime limited”

Neither of KitchenAid’s two $19.99 Gourmet listings on this shelf mentions a warranty at all. Eleven of the thirteen graters here publish none; the only other is WALDWERK’s 60-day unconditional refund.

On a tool whose failure mode is slow — edges dulling over years rather than breaking — a lifetime limited warranty is worth more than it would be on something that either works or does not.

Three KitchenAids, and the weights disagree

  • This — $24.99 — 499 g (0.9 to 17.6 oz) — 133 × 165 × 262 mm (5.24 × 6.50 × 10.3 in)
  • Gourmet, charcoal gray — $19.99 — 458 g (0.7 to 16.2 oz) — 128 × 163 × 262 mm (5.04 × 6.42 × 10.3 in)
  • Gourmet with Measuring Container — $19.99 — 227 g (8 oz) — 133 × 165 × 262 mm (5.24 × 6.50 × 10.3 in)

The black Gourmet carries exactly these dimensions at less than half the mass, which in the same material is not plausible. Treat the figures with caution; the one that cross-checks is the shared 262 mm (10.3 in) height.

Four sides, named individually

Fine blade, Medium, Coarse blade, Slicing blade. Three grating surfaces and one slicer, which is the standard set on eleven of the thirteen graters here. Only Martha Stewart differs, with a fine and an extra-fine instead of a medium.

What is not published

No steel grade, where Urbanstrive, Cuisipro and WALDWERK all publish 304 — the grade that resists corrosion at cut edges, which on a grater is every hole.

No blade process. Only WALDWERK addresses it: other manufacturers cheaply stamp the blades out of the material. We etch them. A stamped hole cuts with the burr around it, and a burr folds over and dulls.

No non-slip base, where eleven graters here have one — and Spring Chef names the second reason it matters: a rubber bottom also stops grated food escaping out under the open bottom edge.

Availability

On sale at around $25 on the American Amazon store at the time of checking.

Prices and availability are what Keepa reported on the date this page was updated; both move.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 4 October 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

What we rate, and what we do not

Strengths

  • Four hundred and ninety-nine grams — the heaviest all-steel grater here, which is panel stiffness under a hard block
  • The only warranty in the KitchenAid family on this shelf: one year hassle-free replacement plus lifetime limited
  • The only listing here to publish a container volume, and a steel top handle you can lean on

Compromises

  • A three-cup container graduated only to two cups, so the top third cannot be measured
  • Five dollars more than KitchenAid’s two Gourmet graters, one of which is listed at 458 g (16.2 oz)
  • No non-slip base stated, where eleven graters on this shelf have one

Specifications

SidesFour — three grating surfaces (fine, medium, coarse) plus one slicing blade
HandleA stainless steel TOP handle, for superior comfort — not a soft side grip
Container volume3 cups — the only capacity published on this shelf
Container markings1/2 cup, 1 cup, 1-1/2 cup and 2 cup
Warranty1-year hassle-free replacement, and lifetime limited
MaterialHigh quality, rust-resistant stainless steel
DishwasherSafe
Weight499 g (17.6 oz) — the heaviest all-steel grater on this shelf
Metal per dollar20.0 g (0.7 oz)
Dimensions133 × 165 × 262 mm (5.24 × 6.50 × 10.3 in)
Height262 mm (10.3 in), about 10.3 in
The gap in the containerA 3-cup pot graduated only to 2 cups — see the FAQ
Steel gradeNot published by the maker
Blade processNot stated
Non-slip baseNot stated, where eleven graters here have one
Amazon referenceB005FQ28SQ
EAN0024131149841

The questions that come in

Why does the top handle change things?

Because it changes which way you can push. Eleven graters on this shelf have a side handle — a vertical grip with a soft coating — which suits holding the grater up over a plate and grating downward. Two have a top handle: this one and Norpro, which names the reason plainly, "a secure, comfortable grip and steady leverage during heavy grating". With a hand on top you press the grater down onto a board and hold it dead still, which is what a hard block of parmesan or a raw sweet potato asks for. With a side grip, pressing down means twisting your wrist. KitchenAid’s is also stainless steel rather than coated plastic — more comfortable than it sounds on a tool you lean on, and one fewer part to perish.

Three cups but marked to two?

Yes, and it is the oddity on an otherwise well-documented page. The listing states both separately: "a 3-cup container fits inside the box grater", and "the container has capacity markings of 1/2-cup, 1-cup, 1 1/2-cup, and 2-cup". So the pot holds a cup more than its highest graduation — fine as a storage vessel, but the last third cannot be measured. It is still the most information on this shelf: of the six graters here with a detachable container, this is the only one that publishes a volume at all. KitchenAid’s two other listings give the same markings without a capacity; GORILLA GRIP says "includes measurements" with no figures; OXO and Urbanstrive publish neither.

Is it worth $5 more than the other two KitchenAids?

For the warranty and the handle, yes — and the weights muddy the rest. KitchenAid has three graters on this shelf: the Gourmet in charcoal gray at $19.99 and 458 g (16.2 oz), the Gourmet with Measuring Container at $19.99 and 227 g (8 oz), and this at $24.99 and 499 g (17.6 oz). Only this one publishes a warranty — "1-year Hassle-Free replacement and lifetime limited" — and only this one has a steel top handle; the other two have soft-grip side handles. It is also the only one to state its container volume. Against that, the black Gourmet carries exactly these dimensions at 227 g (8 oz), which cannot both be right, so treat the mass figures with caution. The warranty is the solid reason.

This one against the other cookware and knives

Close prices, same category: comparable cookware and knives. We keep only the specifications all of them publish, because a column with gaps compares nothing.

Model Price SidesHandleWarrantyWeight
KitchenAid Gourmet 4-Sided $25 Four — three grating surfaces (fine, medium, coarse) plus one slicing bladeA stainless steel TOP handle, for superior comfort — not a soft side grip1-year hassle-free replacement, and lifetime limited499 g (17.6 oz) — the heaviest all-steel grater on this shelf
OXO Good Grips 4-Sided $25 Four — generous coarse, medium and fine grating surfaces plus a slicing surfaceSoft, comfortable, non-slipNot published by the makerNot published by the maker — the only grater here with no weight at all
Cuisipro 4 Sided Box Grater $21 Four grating surfaces, from fine to coarseNon-slipNot published by the maker240 g (8.5 oz)
KitchenAid Gourmet Box Grater, Charcoal Gray $20 Four — a coarse, medium and fine grater plus a slicerSoft-grip, for comfort and controlNot published on this listing458 g (16.2 oz)

What sets the models apart, in cookware and knives

  • If price decides: KitchenAid Gourmet Box Grater, Charcoal Gray, at $20.

What use this one answers, among cookware and knives

Hard blocks and heavy use — a top handle, the most steel here, and the only warranty KitchenAid publishes

Add-ons stated to fit

Listed because the add-on names this pan as a fit.

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 1,000.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for cookware and kitchen knives and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we judge these cookware and knives on

Prices quoted in these summaries are dated readings. The live price is shown next to each product.