Skip to content

OXO Good Grips 4-Sided review

A four-sided grater with a slim body the maker says fits a drawer, and a detachable container.

What we would actually buy The only grater here built to be put away — a slim body the listing says fits a drawer, which on a ten-inch tower is the complaint every other maker ignores. It publishes no weight at all.

What the maker puts in writing

  • “Generous coarse, medium and fine stainless steel grating surfaces and slicing surface”
  • “Slim construction conveniently fits into drawers”
  • “Detachable container for catching, measuring, dispensing and storing freshly grated ingredients”
  • “Grate on plate, cutting board or directly into container”
  • “Soft, comfortable, non-slip handle”

The only grater here designed to be put away

“Slim construction conveniently fits into drawers.”

That is the one real complaint about box graters, and eleven makers on this shelf ignore it.

A full-size box grater is a ten-inch tower, often with a container on the bottom. It will not lie in a drawer, it is too tall for many wall cupboards, and it ends up living on the worktop or in the back of a cabinet behind the mixing bowls.

KitchenAid’s own listing on this shelf is reduced to warning buyers about it: refer to the product dimensions listed on this page before purchasing to ensure it fits your storage space.

OXO is the only maker here that treats it as something to solve rather than disclose.

And the catalog figures back the claim

300 × 114 × 74 mm — about 11.8 × 4.5 × 2.9 inches.

At 74 mm (2.91 in), the slimmest body on this shelf:

  • 74 mm (2.91 in) — this
  • 75 mm (2.95 in) — Urbanstrive · 79 mm (3.11 in) — GORILLA GRIP · 83 mm (3.27 in) — Norpro
  • 89 mm (3.50 in) — Cuisinart · 95 mm (3.74 in) — Cuisipro
  • 128 to 165 mm (5.04 to 6.50 in) — the three KitchenAids

Ten graters here publish no dimensions in their listings at all, so for most of this shelf the question cannot be asked before the box arrives.

Three ways to use it, stated plainly

Grate on plate, cutting board or directly into container.

Which is more useful than it looks, because the three habits want different things. Grating onto a plate wants a sealed bottom edge — Spring Chef on this shelf is the only listing that names a rubber base as doing that. Grating into the container wants the container to come off easily.

And OXO adds a fourth function no other listing here names: dispensing.

Catching, measuring, dispensing and storing. Dispensing means the container is shaped to pour from — grated cheese onto pasta without a spoon, grated carrot into a bowl without tipping the whole pot. The listing does not describe the rim, so how well it does that is not knowable from the page.

The gap: no weight at all

The only grater on this shelf that publishes none.

That matters because on a box grater, mass is the proxy for panel stiffness — a thin face flexes when you press a hard block against it, and a flexing face makes the cutting edges skip rather than bite. Which is what “blunt” usually means.

Twelve graters here can be ranked on it:

  • 621 g (21.9 oz) — WALDWERK (with an oak base) · 499 g (17.6 oz) — KitchenAid 4-Sided · 458 g (16.2 oz) — KitchenAid Gourmet
  • 340 g (12 oz) — GORILLA GRIP · 330 g (11.6 oz) — Urbanstrive · 308 g (10.9 oz) — Spring Chef · 305 g (10.8 oz) — Martha Stewart
  • 240 g (8.5 oz) — Cuisipro · 146 g (5.1 oz) — Norpro

This one cannot be placed. On a $24.71 grater that is worth noting, because the $9.98 Urbanstrive publishes a weight, a steel grade (304) and a full material composition.

Five one-line bullets

And the things they leave out:

No container capacity, and no graduations — where the three KitchenAids publish markings at 1/2, 1, 1-1/2 and 2 cups, and the 4-Sided model publishes a 3-cup volume.

No dishwasher statement, which twelve graters here make. (Norpro is the honest outlier, recommending hand washing “for blade longevity”.)

No steel grade. Urbanstrive, Cuisipro and WALDWERK publish 304 on this shelf.

No blade process, which only WALDWERK addresses: other manufacturers cheaply stamp the blades out of the material. We etch them.

No warranty.

Availability

On sale at around $25 on the American Amazon store at the time of checking.

Prices and availability are what Keepa reported on the date this page was updated; both move.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 4 October 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

What we rate, and what we do not

Strengths

  • The only grater on this shelf designed and sold to fit in a drawer, which is the real problem with the product
  • A catalog depth of 74 mm (2.91 in), the slimmest here, consistent with the drawer claim
  • Names dispensing as a container function, which no other listing here does

Compromises

  • Publishes no weight at all, so its panel stiffness cannot be judged or compared
  • No container capacity, no graduations and no dishwasher statement
  • Twenty-five dollars with five one-line bullets, where a $9.98 grater here publishes its steel grade and composition

Specifications

SidesFour — generous coarse, medium and fine grating surfaces plus a slicing surface
StorageSlim construction, stated to fit conveniently into drawers
ContainerDetachable, for catching, measuring, dispensing and storing
DispensingStated as a function of the container — unique on this shelf
Where to grateOn a plate, a cutting board, or directly into the container
HandleSoft, comfortable, non-slip
Catalog dimensions300 × 114 × 74 mm (11.8 × 4.49 × 2.91 in) — the slimmest depth here
Published bulletsFive, each one line
WeightNot published by the maker — the only grater here with no weight at all
Container capacityNot published by the maker
Container markingsNot stated, where the three KitchenAids publish cup graduations
Steel gradeNot published by the maker
DishwasherNot stated
WarrantyNot published by the maker
Amazon referenceB0007VO0CQ
EAN0719812005973

The questions that come in

Does it really fit in a drawer?

The catalog depth supports the claim, and this is the only listing on this shelf to make it. OXO states "slim construction conveniently fits into drawers", and the catalog dimensions are 300 × 114 × 74 mm (11.8 × 4.49 × 2.91 in) — about 11.8 × 4.5 × 2.9 inches. At 74 mm (2.91 in) that is the slimmest body here: Urbanstrive is 75 mm (2.95 in), GORILLA GRIP 79 mm (3.11 in), Norpro 83 mm (3.27 in), Cuisipro 95 mm (3.74 in), and the three KitchenAids 128 to 165 mm (5.04 to 6.50 in). The problem is real: a full-size box grater is a ten-inch tower, and KitchenAid’s own listing on this shelf is reduced to warning buyers to "refer to the product dimensions... to ensure it fits your storage space". Ten graters here publish no dimensions at all, so you cannot even ask the question before delivery.

What does "dispensing" mean?

It is a fourth use for the container, and OXO is the only listing here to name it. The bullet reads: "detachable container for catching, measuring, dispensing and storing freshly grated ingredients." Catching and storing are what every container does; measuring is what the KitchenAid graduations are for. Dispensing means the container is shaped to pour from — so grated cheese goes from the pot onto the pasta without a spoon, and grated carrot into a bowl without tipping the whole thing. Whether that works comes down to the rim, which the listing does not describe. It does also tell you the alternatives plainly — "grate on plate, cutting board or directly into container" — which is the honest way to describe a grater that can be used three ways.

Why does publishing no weight matter?

Because on a box grater, mass is the proxy for the one thing you cannot see: panel stiffness. A thin-gauge face flexes when you press a hard block of cheddar against it, and a flexing face makes the cutting edges skip across the food rather than bite — which is what most people mean when they say a grater feels blunt. Twelve of the thirteen graters on this shelf publish a weight, so they can be ranked: 621 g (21.9 oz) for WALDWERK (with an oak base), 499 and 458 g (16.2 oz) for two KitchenAids, 340 for GORILLA GRIP, 330 for Urbanstrive, down to 146 g (5.1 oz) for Norpro. This one cannot be placed in that list at all, which on a $24.71 grater is the gap worth noting — the $9.98 Urbanstrive publishes a weight, a steel grade and a full material composition.

This one against the other cookware and knives

Close prices, same category: comparable cookware and knives. We keep only the specifications all of them publish, because a column with gaps compares nothing.

Model Price SidesHandleWeightSteel grade
OXO Good Grips 4-Sided $25 Four — generous coarse, medium and fine grating surfaces plus a slicing surfaceSoft, comfortable, non-slipNot published by the maker — the only grater here with no weight at allNot published by the maker
KitchenAid Gourmet 4-Sided $25 Four — three grating surfaces (fine, medium, coarse) plus one slicing bladeA stainless steel TOP handle, for superior comfort — not a soft side grip499 g (17.6 oz) — the heaviest all-steel grater on this shelfNot published by the maker
Cuisipro 4 Sided Box Grater $21 Four grating surfaces, from fine to coarseNon-slip240 g (8.5 oz)304 stainless steel
KitchenAid Gourmet Box Grater, Charcoal Gray $20 Four — a coarse, medium and fine grater plus a slicerSoft-grip, for comfort and control458 g (16.2 oz)Not published by the maker

What sets the models apart, in cookware and knives

  • If price decides: KitchenAid Gourmet Box Grater, Charcoal Gray, at $20.

What use this one answers, among cookware and knives

A kitchen with no cupboard space — the one grater here that lies down in a drawer

Add-ons stated to fit

Listed because the add-on names this pan as a fit.

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 1,000.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for cookware and kitchen knives and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we judge these cookware and knives on

Prices quoted in these summaries are dated readings. The live price is shown next to each product.