Skip to content

Joseph Joseph Multi-Grip Hand-held review

A handheld mandoline whose food grip has three styles, one for each shape of produce.

What we would actually buy Three named grip styles — pinch for small items, center for round slices, flat for long ones — which is the only listing here that notices a single food holder cannot hold every shape.

What the maker puts in writing

  • “Safely and evenly slice a variety of fruit and vegetables”
  • “Precision food grip features three styles of grip: Pinch grip for small items; Center grip for round slices; Flat grip for longer slices”
  • “Three slice thickness”
  • “Non-slip tip and easy-grip handle”
  • “Protective guard keeps fingers away from blade”

The only listing here that notices the holder problem

Every mandoline comes with a food holder, and every mandoline owner discovers its limit within a week.

The standard holder is a disc of spikes you press into the vegetable and push. It works beautifully on a potato. It skates straight off a tomato or a lemon — anything with a skin over a slippery interior — and it cannot hold anything long without the piece pivoting on the spikes.

Joseph Joseph publishes three holds:

Pinch grip for small items. Center grip for round slices. Flat grip for longer slices.

Three mechanical answers for three geometries. Nothing else on this shelf acknowledges there is more than one problem.

Which matters because this is the tool that cuts people

A mandoline is the commonest source of serious cuts in a domestic kitchen, and the injury comes at the last slice — when what is left is too small to hold and the fingertips pass over a fixed razor edge.

A holder that slips off a tomato is the mechanism by which that happens.

The other serious answers on this shelf: Fullstar fits steel tips to its guard rather than plastic ones, and says so. Gramercy includes cut-resistant gloves, the only listing that does. Ibergrif adds a blade lock for the drawer. OXO Precision makes the holder automatic and height-adjustable.

Two listings publish no guard at all: OXO’s cheapest handheld and the old-version Benriner.

Three thicknesses, unnumbered

The listing says “three slice thickness” and stops.

Five listings here publish millimeters: Fullstar 1, 2, 3, 4 mm (0.16 in) · OXO 1, 2.5, 4 mm (0.16 in) on two models · Ibergrif 1, 2, 4 mm (0.16 in) · Benriner a dial from 0.5 to 8 mm (0.02 to 0.31 in) · Mueller Austria 1 to 9 mm (0.04 to 0.35 in).

What three unnumbered clicks still give you is repeatability — the same setting gives the same slice whether or not you can name it. What they do not give you is a recipe figure: 2 mm (0.08 in) for a gratin, 1 mm for crisps.

OXO Precision does the same thing in words: julienne, thin, medium, thick, extra thick.

Against the Fullstar, at the same price

Both $14.98.

Fullstar: four numbered thicknesses, a built-in julienne blade, published 420 stainless, a steel-tipped guard. This: three distinct grips, a non-slip tip, and no figures for anything.

Slice mostly potatoes and courgettes — buy the Fullstar. Slice what is in the fruit bowl — the grips matter more.

What is not published

No thickness figures. No blade steel, where Gramercy publishes 4CR15 and Fullstar 420. No julienne. No dishwasher statement. No slicing surface width — only Benriner gives one, at 2.5 inches, and it is what decides what actually fits across the blade. No warranty.

Two hundred grams, which sits mid-range among the handhelds here (70 to 350 g (2.5 to 12.3 oz)).

Availability

On sale at around $15 on the American Amazon store at the time of checking.

Prices and availability are what Keepa reported on the date this page was updated; both move.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 4 October 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

What we rate, and what we do not

Strengths

  • The only listing on this shelf to notice that one food holder cannot grip every shape — and to name three grips
  • Describes which grip suits which produce, rather than leaving you to work it out
  • Fifteen dollars for a 200 gram handheld with a protective guard and a non-slip tip

Compromises

  • Publishes no thickness figures at all, where five listings here give millimeters
  • No blade steel, no dishwasher statement and no julienne
  • Five one-line bullets, with no slicing surface width

Specifications

Food gripThree styles — pinch for small items, center for round slices, flat for longer slices
Why that mattersA single spiked holder grips a potato and slips off a tomato
ThicknessThree settings
GuardProtective, keeping fingers away from the blade
TipNon-slip
HandleEasy grip
Weight200 g (7.1 oz)
BladesAdjustable, per the title
Thickness figuresNot published — no millimeters given
Blade steelNot published, where two listings here publish a grade
JulienneNot stated
DishwasherNot stated
WarrantyNot published by the maker
Amazon referenceB07YGZYLG8
EAN5028420001860

The questions that come in

What do three grips actually solve?

The problem every mandoline owner meets and no other listing on this shelf names: a single food holder does not fit every shape. The standard holder is a disc of spikes you press into the vegetable and push — which works beautifully on a potato, and skates straight off a tomato, a lemon or anything with a skin and a slippery interior. It also cannot hold something long without the piece pivoting. Joseph Joseph publishes three: "Pinch grip for small items; Center grip for round slices; Flat grip for longer slices." That is three different mechanical holds for three geometries. Every other listing here supplies one holder — Fullstar improves it with steel tips, OXO Precision with automatic height adjustment, Gramercy by adding gloves.

Does it matter that no millimeters are published?

For repeatability, yes. The listing says only "three slice thickness" with no figures, and five listings on this shelf do give them: Fullstar at 1, 2, 3 and 4 mm (0.16 in), OXO at 1, 2.5 and 4 on two models, Ibergrif at 1, 2 and 4, Benriner on a dial from 0.5 to 8 mm (0.02 to 0.31 in), and Mueller Austria from 1 to 9. Why it matters: a recipe that calls for 2 mm (0.08 in) potato for a gratin or 1 mm (0.04 in) for crisps is asking for a number, and without one you are judging by eye each time. What three unnumbered settings do still give you is repeatability — the same click gives the same slice even if you do not know what to call it. OXO Precision does the same with words: thin, medium, thick, extra thick.

How does it compare with the Fullstar at the same price?

They solve different halves of the same problem, at $14.98 each. Fullstar gives you four numbered thicknesses (1 to 4 mm (0.04 to 0.16 in)), a built-in julienne blade, a published 420 stainless steel and a steel-tipped hand guard — more cutting capability and a better version of the standard holder. Joseph Joseph gives you three distinct grips for three produce shapes, which is a different and arguably deeper answer to safety, plus a non-slip tip — and publishes no thickness figures, no steel, no julienne and no dishwasher statement. If you slice mostly potatoes and courgettes, buy the Fullstar. If the fruit bowl is where your mandoline gets used, the grips matter more.

This one against the other cookware and knives

Close prices, same category: comparable cookware and knives. We keep only the specifications all of them publish, because a column with gaps compares nothing.

Model Price WeightJulienne
Joseph Joseph Multi-Grip Hand-held $15 200 g (7.1 oz)Not stated
fullstar Handheld Mandoline and Julienne Cutter $15 350 g (12.3 oz) — the heaviest handheld hereA built-in julienne blade, so no device swap
Ibergrif Handheld Adjustable $16 320 g (11.3 oz)Not stated
PrepSolutions Adjust-A-Slice $17 Not published by the makerNot stated

What sets the models apart, in cookware and knives

  • If price decides: this model, at $15.

What use this one answers, among cookware and knives

Round and awkward produce — tomatoes, lemons, small onions — where a spiked holder skates

Add-ons stated to fit

Listed because the add-on names this pan as a fit.

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 400.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for cookware and kitchen knives and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we judge these cookware and knives on

Prices quoted in these summaries are dated readings. The live price is shown next to each product.